nomadinter.blogg.se

Alan dean foster alien books
Alan dean foster alien books











alan dean foster alien books
  1. #Alan dean foster alien books movie#
  2. #Alan dean foster alien books full#

This book adds details that were unknown in the movie. The novelization, including fabulous narration, is even more exciting than book one. I would have to ask myself the same question after all she went through. The only time she faltered was when asking herself WHY in the world she allowed herself to be talked into coming back to this alien world. The words used to describe her in Alien have changed to words that mean a woman that is determined, strong, relentless, and will stop at nothing to keep herself, and her friends, safe. Ripley dealt with some issues in book one (if they can be called issues!!) and has grown tremendously. What I could not remember of the movie, the book made extremely clear. And also in part because Ripley has really started to come into her own. Maybe partly because of Newt but also due to the outstanding characterization of the marines.

#Alan dean foster alien books movie#

If I was excited about listening to Alien, I am ecstatic about listening to Aliens! I remember this movie the most. I can't recommend this title being an fan of the film. The world creation was better but too bland and analytical in the narration also. The narration was fairly bland with little emotion, even in the most stressful situations. They choose to completely remove all the swearing from the book which completely divorces the emotion from the situations. This novelization fails mightily, one of the most famous catch phrases of my generation was even sanitized ("Get away from her you BITCH!"). The correct balance of suspense and drama. This (in movie format) is a classic, one of the best sci/horror films ever created.

#Alan dean foster alien books full#

This novelization was grammatically sanitized from all swearing, did the publisher realize how inaccurately that portraits The Marines Corp? Seriously have you ever been in a room full of Marines, they swear constantly it's a part of noncom life. I had high hopes for this novelization, sadly I find myself rather disgusted with what was done. :) If you can see the movie, just do that and only that. The only people who I think would really enjoy this book are kids in the same situation. That worked, until I could see the movie. Who might enjoy this? Well, I was 10 years old when Alien came out and my parents wouldn't take me to see it. Hope tried to (unsuccessfully) imitate the movie voices and was hampered by sanitized dialogue. Foster basically just wrote down the movie. I think the major reason for reading a novelization of a movie is to get interior thoughts/feelings for the characters and to pick up more in-depth explanations of character motives, technical details, etc. You get very little detail/background for the story that isn't supplied on-screen.

alan dean foster alien books

The scope is the movie and only the movie. Textures, colors, smells, sounds, and visuals aren't not given much text at all and the novelization feels pretty flat as a result. Foster doesn't help you visualize the aliens much. Mostly I am talking about solid description. But lots of bits that you would put in for a stand-alone work just aren't there the author seems to be relying on the reader to have seen the movie. If the reading/writing had tried to be more stand-alone, the book might be more successful. Sensory descriptions are missing and the novel is flat without having seen the movie. It's an impossible task to measure up to a full cast of actors in this regard and I wish Hope or the person who produced/directed this audiobook hadn't tried. This narrator (Hope) tries, and/or invents voices for ones he can't approximate, but it really doesn't work. There is no way a single narrator can imitate all the great voices in the movie exactly. I think a reading with less-differentiated voices would be much better. The reader struggles with doing multiple voices. These are marines and blue collar workers (Ripley). But many of the best lines from the movie completely lose their force, rhythm, and impact from being sanitized. Instead of the most loved line in the movie, "Get away from her you bitch!" we are given "Get away from her YOU!" Now I'm not that attached to swearing I'm not a 12-year old on the playground trying to sound grown up. As indicated by my review title, nearly all the expletives have been omitted. I love the first two movies in this franchise so much! So how can a book that essentially follows the movie scene for scene be disappointing? Let me explain how. This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?













Alan dean foster alien books